SHCG Annual Meeting 2011 Arrowmont

Mary Dashiell works with Douglas Atchley in ceramic workshop.

Jen Swearington led a screenprinting workshop.

Screenprinting workshop

Tom Roberson of the Asheville Visitor Center received the Honorary Membership Award.
(shown: April Nance, Lila Bellando, Tom Roberson)

Mike Hensley received the Heritage Craft Affiliate Award.

Homer Sales received the Heritage Craft Affiliate Award.

Ed Brinkman received Lifetime Membership Award.
(shown: Lila Bellando, Ed Brinkman, Hugh Bailey)

On Saturday, April 16, 2011 the Southern Highland Craft Guild held its 81st Annual Meeting at Arrowmont School of Arts and Crafts in Gatlinburg, TN. Prior to the Guild’s business meeting, special awards were presented.

Tom Roberson, Director of Visitor Services at the Asheville Area Chamber of Commerce, received an Honorary Membership award. Honorary Membership awards are bestowed upon individuals for outstanding service or significant contributions to the Guild.

Mike Hensley, a blacksmith from Spruce Pine, NC, received the Heritage Craft Affiliate Membership award. This award is given to the traditionally trained man or woman, born or raised in the Guild region, whose work in an indigenous craft reflects the highest level of achievement and perpetuation of folk art in the Guild region. Homer Sales, a rifle maker from Fairview, NC also received the Heritage Craft Affiliate award.

Ed Brinkman, a ceramicist from Burnsville, NC and member since 1972 received the Lifetime Membership award which is given to active individual members in honor of outstanding service to the Guild.

Following the Awards Ceremony the 2011 business meeting was conducted and new members of the Board of Trustees were appointed. The Board members are: Teresa Brittain of Oak Ridge, TN (President), Tom Bauman of Asheville, NC (Vice President), Freida Terrell of Clyde, NC (Treasurer), Sandra Rowland of Murphy, NC (Secretary), Lila Bellando of Berea, KY, Hugh Bailey of Knoxville, TN, Rob Mangum of Weaverville, NC, Mary Dashiell of Meadows of Dan, VA and Alan Hollar of Newland, NC.